New Light through Old Windows

For the New Year I have decided to refresh my blogging site and rebrand it as ‘New Light through Old Windows’.

I began the blog in 2009 and called it ‘Age of Innocence’ with the aim of writing an occasional post about every year of my childhood and teenager life (1954-1970) and reflecting on the major events of those years through the news and personal experience and recollections.

In 2011 I set myself the ambitious project of posting a blog every day by searching back in time and finding a pot-pourri of Madeleine memories and significant events on a day in history or in my life that gave me a special ‘Memory Nudge’ and something to write about – I called this ‘A Life in a Year’.

I completed the project but sometimes it was hard work because when you have only lived, in the words of Shirley Valentine ’a little life’ it is difficult to find 365 events to write about.

For 2012 I am not going to set myself anything like such a difficult task but I am going to take some time to reassess the previous posts, leave some where they are, cryogenically frozen in time, but those which I consider my favourites or the best or the most interesting I am going to edit, review, dismantle, reconstruct and hopefully improve and repost.  There will be some new subject matter as well but I certainly won’t be attempting a blog a day because I don’t want the pressure to publish which I have found in my case can lead to some inferior work.

Leave a Reply

