The End of the Year and the Start of a New Blogging Project

New Light Through Old Windows

And so 2012 and another blogging year comes to an end and thank you to everyone who visited, passed by or just dropped in by accident when looking for something else and increased my page hits by 87% from 100,671 views in 2011 to 188,500 in 2012.

Throughout the year I have been reviewing old posts and reblogging and in that time I have managed a post a day for the entire year.  I have added new pictures, corrected mistakes and changed some text in response to feedback.

But I cannot do that again next year so I have identified a new project.

When my dad died I took possession of a box of papers and mementos which included a scrap book and several exercise books with yellowing dog-eared pages which included notes and stories of things that were important to him and what he liked to write about and keep a record of.

This box of old books is now one of my most treasured possessions and I return to it regularly for inspiration.  It is a record of his life that he recorded and archived and I feel privileged to possess this box of history.

It occurred to me one time that if my dad had had access to the internet and to the opportunity to share these things with others through a wider medium then he would surely have been a blogger and because I hoped that in twenty or thirty year’s time my own children might like to know about me in the same way – but I don’t want to keep scrap books or written journals – then I decided that the appropriate modern equivalent to the scrap book would be through blog posts.

In keeping with my theme of ‘New Light Through Old Windows” I have decided that my project for 2013 will be to take a page at a time and find a memory story that leaps from the page.  I am not going to post every day because that becomes a bit of a chore just now and again when I am satisfied that I have a story.  Sometimes these will be revisited and recycled and sometimes they will be new.

I hope that readers will still continue to drop by?

Dad's Scrap Book

9 responses to “The End of the Year and the Start of a New Blogging Project

  1. I will be here with you in 2013, Andrew. I like your writing and you going down “memory lane” with the help of your own Dad’s notes. I am sure your children and grandchildren will one day look at your words with love and great sweet sadness and thank you silently for what you have done for them – left behind beautiful memories about your/their family. Jo has 2 wonderful girls whom I love dearly and for years now he pleads with me to write down my very own “memories” for them (and their children one day), although I have not given birth to them. I should do this, I must do this – time flys at our age, and I would not want it be too late. So let’s see how I can do this coming year.

  2. Sounds right up my street, looking forward to it!

  3. Sounds interesting. You know you are getting old when you enjoy reading other peoples’ memories! I wish I had my scrap books let alone any my parents may have had. Mine of course were full of dogs, horses, and fairies 😀

  4. What a fabulous project! Congratulations on a great 2012 and I wish you much joy as you comb your dad’s artifacts for publication in 2013. It will be a labor of love.

  5. I think that’s a great idea Andrew, look forward to reading all about it

Leave a Reply

